help

Can't figure out coverline

rated by 0 users
This post has 22 Replies | 0 Followers

Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next >
Not Ranked
Posts 111
happyincanada Posted: 09-11-2006 3:53 PM
I'm new to this...only taking temp for a little over a week. I can't for the life of me figure out how to do a coverline, or why it is important. The description in tcoyf doesn't make any sense to me!

Can someone please help and explain?

Thank you!
Not Ranked
Posts 255
Wishing4 replied on 09-11-2006 4:03 PM
Here is the answer I gave someone two days ago:

"It was a little confusing for me too. The way I understand it is that whatever day you are on, count the six previous days and the coverline is above that. So, with my chart I'm on day CD18 as I'm typing this. Looking at the 6 days before today, the highest is 98.2 so my coverline goes above that. I hope that helps."

I'm now on CD20. I think I've o'd but my temps are a little strange to me, so I've got it set to CF only (so there is no coverline right now). So ignoring CF, drawing a coverline today would be over the highest which is 98.4.
Not Ranked
Posts 15,551
heyjen replied on 09-11-2006 4:28 PM
From the program glossary:

Coverline: A line drawn 0.1° F / 0.05° C above the highest of the previous six temperatures on a fertility chart. When three successive temperatures are above this line, a thermal shift is identified and there's a good chance that ovulation has already occurred. Note that a Normal setting for the TCOYF rule interpretation option within the Calculation tab of Preferences window will permit you to have as little as four temperatures when calculating a coverline (but will use six if they are available). A Strict setting requires six temperatures. TCOYF automatically draws a coverline for you on your Chart when you have enough data to do so. The coverline may change as you cycle progresses.